Printing at the table.

As promised, here is a snippet about the lino printing process.

I bought a linocut starter set way back in 2015 but didn’t open it until last year!
The delay was due to two job changes and a house move, a busy and challenging time for us.

You probably recognise the brand, it’s quite well known.
This photo is my first time using Lino. The set came with traditional and soft cut lino and as I liked the size, I tried soft cut lino first.  There were some nerves as I was worried about cutting myself, but I soon got into the habit of cutting away from my hands!

My first challenge was the design.

Dear Readers; as friends and family are well aware, I am a big fan of sci fi and fantasy (among others) and this occasionally makes it’s way into my art!

Still with me? Phew!
Spock, that well known Vulcan champion of logic and emotion, has always had a dear place in my heart and I really felt his distinctive face would work well with lino.

After sketching out a rough outline and popping in some angles, I traced my design directly onto the lino. A border to frame it and it was time to start cutting. You can see my design below.

By this point I was getting excited! I could see the linocut would work so long as I cut deep enough.

My finished linocut:

The next step was to get the printing ink ready.

I used the ink that came with the set, water based black.

Getting the ink to the desired tackiness can take a few minutes of patience-too much and you risk flooding all the lovely cuts you’ve made, too little and the finished print won’t be dark or solid enough.

Remember, this was my first ever attempt, I knew nothing about registration or drying times!
Once I was satisfied that the ink was ready and my roller covered, I inked the linocut and covered it oh so carefully with a piece of cartridge paper I had cut specifically for this exercise.
Traditionally a tool called a baren is used to then apply pressure to the paper to ensure the ink is transferred.  I used a lovely old wooden spoon that my husband insisted on claiming back!

Here’s the finished print:

I am still so happy with this print, I love the highlighting in his hair, the angles of his face and the lovely section I put in behind him for a bit of background.

I loved every second of the process and wished I’d tried it sooner!

I did get a bit carried away when printing though…

Leave a comment